How Important Is "The Stack" For Online Entrepreneurs?

recent “stack” google-sheet that went viral in online b2b linkedin community

Stack - An Integral Component or a Necessary Evil?

I recently came across a post by Alex Lieberman - probably the #1 most prominent influencer figure in the online business and SaaS world of startups.

It was a Google sheet - that basically laid out all the tools used by prominent founders, like himself and Noah Kagan. Things like Notion, Slack, Beehiiv, Smartlead….

Admittingly - this got my dopamine FIRING.

In the difficult world of online entrepreneurship, something about those colorful icons, low ticket monthly prices, and “interconnected” automation…got me all juiced up.

And the idea of comparing my $ 50-a-month subscription list to that of a powerhouse productive genius like Noah Kagan who is an idol in the entrepreneurial world - well, let’s just say it got me thinking.

The Power of The Stack

Ok - so we’ve established that SaaS stacks are cool and make us feel good and interested.

But does your specific productivity, or marketing tool, actually impact your success as a business owner?

And if so - in what fashion? outside of budget - is there an optimal stack of tools most founders should be using?

The Tools Don’t Matter

I run a community for online entrepreneurs. If you have ever joined a LinkedIn Group, Reddit or other support group - you know the #1 topic of conversation is always the latest marketing tool, and software. Things like:

  • What CRM do you guys use?

  • Do you use OpusClip for podcasts?

  • Is SmartLead or Instantly better for cold email?

  • and more

You see - we online money people LOVE shortcuts. and we love when the next step or next “win” (dopamine rush) can come from implementing a new tool.

Oftentimes, it builds excitement with our team/freelancers - gives them something to do, and makes us feel as if we have done something.

But weeks later, often

  • the blogs aren’t written

  • the emails aren’t sent

  • there aren’t new leads

  • the team is disengaged again

  • you are demotivated and listless

Actual Value of The Stack

In my view having worked on 10 plus businesses of my own, mentored 1000s of entrepreneurs, and seen “tools” come and go in my 10 years in the business.

I have spent probably $500,000 on “stack” friendly software tools like those Noah and Alex mentioned.

And on my now tenth company - I know stacks help in two particular areas

  • Learning

  • Habits

Stacks are all about dopamine, fun, making things easy and exciting.

Decision Making

In the past, when one of my employees would come to me with a brand new idea like Twitter DM automation for $99 a month, or even a grand scale replacement for Notion.io - my response would be the same.

Write out an intense formula in Google sheet - pricing, each feature one by one - and narrow down EXACTLY what the best and most value would be.

After I made my “genius” decision - myself and my team would feel great and excited. But weeks later, the progress would stall and I’d be in the same position.

With an eerie sense of desensitization, skepticism, and deja vu.

Now I approach things differently.

Remember The End Goal

When I think about problems in my existing business or a business one of my community members is starting - I approach things in a matter-of-fact kind of way.

What is the BIGGEST PROBLEM for the business and biggest fear/painpoint we have yet to address?

Usually - this question helps reveal and guide decision-making.

Right now - I’m working on a VIP network paid offer for my community and connections.

I’ve got numerous guys - reaching out to prospects, with some killer messaging and case studies from me.

But our weekly meeting count is still low, and revenue growth - limited.

We need more meetings.

If the messaging isn’t the problem - the issue is volume.

My team knows there is a problem - and they have been suggesting to me numerous different automation tools, and organization schemes. But I don’t want them to automate - I know if they wrote more messages, and sent more, we‘d get better results.

But our current system - in notion - is a pain for these guys to edit, and AN IMPOSSIBILITY for me to monitor and gamify on our highly-precious 30 minute team standups, daily.

I know that my daily standup meetings with these guys are the most critical in getting them to put out the highest volume.

so the question begs..

What stacks will get me more volume?

What stack will get me to gamify things the most for these guys?

The answer for me - the simplest. (Google Sheets) - it’s something I already know, can edit with macros, and tabulate quickly.

No extensive research process is necessary.

The Takeaway

It’s cool to see founder stacks. I’m curious what AI-notetaker Elon Musk is reading.

But the stacks themselves, aren’t what I care about.

I care about outcomes.

Stacks - are a tool - for outcomes.

Don’t think that they will make and break your business -and make sure the VALUE of your business is embedded in people, not a fantasy “fully automated” 0 employee zapier business.

If you really want to learn - LEARN HOW THE FOUNDERS of these stacks built their own business!

Bite sized summaries available on all platforms.

If you like this content - I’m putting out my entire wealth of knowledge (everything you need to run a business) in a dozen or so online courses.

I’m using the marketing tactics of the gurus - against them - to provide real value to entrepreneurs.

Because the entrepreneurial dream is STILL real.

If you’re interested in starting a business, or are currently in the early stage but highly confused by online advice - I have an online accelerator designed not only to train you - but give you the accountability, actual CONNECTIONS (clients, team members, investors) to get you off the ground - right away.