Million Dollar Baby - Having Faith in Your Vision

How to Have Faith In Your Vision

I have seen myself through both sides of the lens - as a successful, late-stage entrepreneur without the burden of “making a budget” for the next month - and a fledgling, wanna-be entrepreneur - with 0 material success and no “physical evidence” of my ability to make it.

One of the things I notice on almost every entrepreneurship forum online is rampant self-doubt.

First-time entrepreneurs are highly consumed with wondering whether they will make it -

or not.

Whether the “sun-kissed” carefree nights, in your boat in the Bahamas - will be reality, or merely an illusion.

On a more basic level - whether you will be able to keep pursing that dream of self-employment, or whether you will have to swallow your dreams, and head back into the job world.

Because when you are taking the risk - no one knows if you will actually succeed.

Whether it’s you quitting your job, investing in your new venture, or merely pronouncing to your network you are going into business yourself.

Your success, your belief in your success - rests firmly in your own hands.

For most people - it’s an uncomfortable feeling. For most entrepreneurs I talked to, it’s something that is the first and last thought, every day- and the lingering questions, after every positive or negative development that happens within your business.

Detach from the Outcome

Like most seasoned entrepreneurs, I often look back on the early days of my business quite fondly. The naivete, the thrill of each “firsts” - but I realize that I had a pretty unique, mentality - even back then - and that allowed me to reach the heights I eventually did.

6 Years In My Journey

6 Months In My Journey

You see - when I started my first company, in my dorm room - I was rather naive. But that naivety, to a certain extent - enabled my success in a way a later-stage “adult” may need to evaluate and emulate by design.

I wasn’t necessarily overly optimistic - but in those first few months of being an entrepreneur, I was 100% committed to it.

Most of my peers were interviewing for jobs - this never even crossed my mind. I was willing to literally, sleep on a couch if my dreams were delayed.

But if I’m being honest with you - I never even really had that anxiety. Because I was seriously convinced, that my ideas, commitment, and focus were special. When I walked home at 3 am in the morning after sitting on the computer for 12 hours in our shared office, I “glimmered” with the knowledge that I was doing something, that most other people - weren’t.

An intelligent observant at the time might look at this and wonder

  • how crazy is this person?

  • Is this person obsessed?

  • What mental issue are they struggling with? clearly, this is delusional.

But now looking back on it, and comparing my 10-year trajectory vs other people who were involved in my first company but quit - I can see it clearly.

Entrepreneurial DELUSION - A Prerequisite for Success

I interviewed a few weeks ago, a guy of similar age to me - who got started later, and had a must faster and momentous come up (6 months to $100k MRR) than I did.

Having observed this company’s rise on social media from the outside, I was curious to find out what was different in his story - than mine, where he could compress a “glow up” that took me several years, into such a short period of time.


Historically - I actually have a message from them, years before they blew up and dominated Twitter with their company.

So - I was able to piece together, a little of that psychology - prior to running the interview with the two cofounders (Christian and Andre)

My podcast with Andre led me to uncover three interesting factors

  • His parents were successful entrepreneurs.

  • His cofounders were also entrepreneurially driven in the “delusion”.

  • He had a strong basis in faith.

I look back on my business psychology - and I remember:

  • My parents were NOT entrepreneurs, and no one in my family believed it possible.

  • My cofounders were NOT all in entrepreneurs, or believers.

  • Faith was not a core part of my (initial) journey

And I realized - that although I had a persistent, self-belief in my own abilities - my entrepreneurial “delusion” was more costly to maintain - than some other people. While self-preserving, I had to constantly, work myself up and motivate my own self-belief to see it happen.

Your Obstacle Is Your Own Belief

With this model and assumption inherent, I truly believe that creating a fanatical belief in your own business success is critical to the speed of that success.

If you don’t have this already - it can be achieved through

Any other strategies?

If you want more articles like this let me know in the comments! Finding the Winners series.

I post great new videos daily!
This one is a banger so check it out

If you’re looking for quick motivation - here’s a playlist of over 100 everyday entrepreneurs talking about what got them to make the jump, in believing in themselves and entrepreneurship.

The answers may surprise you… find this and other AI generated knowledge from our compendium of SNIPED interviews on Skool